2/13/2017

Revisions, Sequences and Versions...OH MY!

Working with Teamcenter

Teamcenter manages items, revisions and datasets.  I think most Teamcenter users understand what those are.  However, Teamcenter treats changes to these differently, which involves sequences and versions.  That can cause confusion.  This article attempts to clarify how sequences and versions apply to changing revisions and datasets. 

Here are my starting ground rules:

  • Items have one or more revisions
  • Revisions have one or more sequences
  • Datasets have one or more versions

Here’s another way to look at it:

  • Revisions only apply to items
  • Sequences only apply to revisions
  • Versions only apply to datasets

Now consider the following image:

  • Item 000047 has one revision – E01
  • Revision E01 has one sequence – 1
  • Dataset 000047-E01 has three versions – 1, 2 and 3
Screen Shot 2017 02 13 At 11 04 12 Am Orig

Now consider what happens upon check out.  First we’ll check out the revision, such as when you need to change one of its properties.

  • When you check out a revision the sequence is incremented immediately. 
Screen Shot 2017 02 13 At 12 56 02 Pm Orig
  • If you check in the revision, then the new sequence is retained. 
Screen Shot 2017 02 13 At 12 58 00 Pm Orig

However, if you cancel the check out, then the sequence decrements to the previous number.  The reason is because no changes were retained, so there is no need for the sequence to be any different from before the check-out.

So now let’s look at what happens when we check-out a dataset.  In the following image you can see the dataset checked out.  I also show the Open With… dialog to display the versions that exist currently, which is showing the same versions that existed before I checked-out the dataset.

  • When you check out a dataset the version does not change. 
Screen Shot 2017 02 13 At 1 00 51 Pm Orig

The following image shows what happens when you check in the dataset:

  • If a dataset is saved, then a new version is created.
    • Also, if the dataset version limit has been exceeded, then the oldest version is deleted.
Screen Shot 2017 02 13 At 1 02 24 Pm Orig

Here we see version 4 was created when the dataset was checked-in.  Also, version 1 was automatically removed.  This is because the default number of versions to keep is three.

In summary, that leaves us with the following points to remember:

  • Revisions have one or more sequences
  • When you check out a revision the sequence is incremented immediately. 
  • If you check in the revision, then the new sequence is retained; otherwise it’s decremented back to the previous value.
  • Datasets have one or more versions
  • When you check out a dataset the version does not change. 
  • If a dataset is saved, then a new version is created.

I hope that helps,
Pat

Patrick Kennedy

Pat brings years of real-world experience to his position at Acuity — and we would know. He departed our team to spend four years on the road, holding positions that furthered his skills in planning, implementing and administering Siemens engineering systems as well as competing products.

Teamcenter
Article